ATP launches process to select new Tour Finals host

08 Aug 2018

By: Sport Industry Group

The ATP has launched a formal bid process to select a host for the Nitto ATP Tour Finals from 2020.

The governing body of men’s professional tennis has appointed Deloitte’s Sport Business Group to manage the process of selecting the future location of the season-ending showcase, which has been held at London’s O2 Arena since 2009.

Interested parties have until November 2nd to submit their bids, with a shortlist set to be revealed in December.

The ATP says it will announce its new host no later than March 2019, emphasising that an extension to its current agreement with London’s O2 Arena will be among the options considered.

Chris Kermode, ATP executive chairman & president, said: “Our season-ending tournament has been a remarkable success story since it moved to London in 2009, and we look forward to continuing the tournament’s growth over the next three years at The O2 through to 2020. 

“The tournament’s popularity and stature have reached unprecedented heights in London, which has attracted significant interest from potential future host cities over the years.

“We feel the time is right to undertake this international tender process as we look to secure the event’s future beyond 2020.

“The O2 has set a very high bar, and we expect that staying in London beyond 2020 will also be among the options for consideration as we go through this process.”

London originally took over from Shanghai as host of the tournament in a four-year deal, which has twice been extended, most recently last summer

The event in London attracts more than 250,000 fans each year, boasting a global broadcast reach of 95 million.

Other previous hosts of the tournament, which was first staged in Tokyo in 1970, include Sydney and New York, whose Madison Square Gardens provided the stage for a record 13 consecutive years between 1977 and 1989.

The week-long event takes place each November, featuring the top eight singles players and doubles teams of the year in a round-robin format.

Image: ©Getty Images