EFL clubs approve reform of transfer window rules

03 May 2019

By: Sport Industry Group

Member football clubs of the EFL have approved a revised approach to rules governing the summer transfer window by voting through proposals that will introduce different transfer deadlines for teams in the Championship, and those in League One and League Two.

The EFL governs the three leagues below the Premier League and said that after consultation in recent months clubs have given “indicative support” ahead of a formal vote at an extraordinary general meeting.

For the current 2018-19 season, all 72 EFL clubs had until August 31st to sign players on loan. However, all deals for permanent transfers had to be completed by August 9th in line with the closure of the window for Premier League clubs.

The amendments to the regulations mean that the deadline for Championship clubs for all incoming permanent and loan registrations closes at 5pm on the Thursday prior to the commencement of the Premier League season. This will be August 8th.

However, a deadline of August 31st will be introduced for League One and League Two clubs for all permanent and loan registrations, providing increased flexibility in relation to trading between clubs in those two divisions.

EFL Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey, said: “I’m pleased that the matter has been determined and thereby ensuring clubs have sufficient time to prepare ahead of the summer transfer window opening in June. It is right that clubs were given the opportunity to determine the direction of travel in order to come to a decision that benefitted their own individual transfer policies.”

In March, the EFL announced plans for a “thorough review” of its governance structures, following a board meeting that also confirmed the process for recruiting a new Chair and CEO of the organisation.

It followed news that Harvey is to step down from his role at the end of a season that has seen him in conflict with a number of the League's clubs.