Formula E teams form London hub

21 Nov 2014

By: Sport Industry Group

Teams competing in the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship have formed the Formula E Teams’ Association, which aims to ‘ensure the Championship remains competitive and compelling entertainment whilst maintaining cost control and the commercial sustainability of the series’.

The Association, which will operate from London, will also provide a Forum to respond to Formula E Holdings and the FIA on issues impacting the teams, as well as suggest a development roadmap for the coming seasons.

Virgin Racing’s Alex Tai steps in as chairman of the Association, whilst Jean-Paul Driot of e-Dams-Renault and Thomas Biermaier of Audi Sport Abt have been elected by the teams as vice-chairmen.

Meanwhile, Mahindra Racing’s Dilbagh Gill will head up the Technical Working Group.

Oliver Weingarten, formerly of FOTA and the Premier League has been appointed as the interim general secretary, to provide requisite support to the Teams.

Tai commented: ‘I am delighted that we have set up the Teams’ Association as it is creates a vital forum for stakeholder discussions.  It is in everybody’s interest that Formula E is a success, and the Teams want to play their part to ensure this.’

‘We are delighted to have brought Oliver on board; he brings with him a wealth of experience from Formula One and The English Premier League and will be a great asset. The Teams are under no illusion that there will be issues that need to be addressed, but now we will be able to work through these challenges together, and with one voice, for the benefit of the Championship.’

Alberto Longo, managing director and deputy CEO of Formula E Holdings Limited added: ‘The birth of the Formula E Teams’ Association is positive news for the development of Formula E. We have always worked closely with the ten teams, who share our goals to make the Championship attractive and continuously grow, while maintaining its characteristic of development for technological solutions. The presence of the Association will help the Teams to cooperate with all the stakeholders on cost control; a crucial element for the sustainability of the sport.’

The ten teams participating in the FIA Formula E Championship are: Amlin Aguri, Andretti Formula E, Audi Sport Abt, China Racing, Dragon Racing, E.Dams-Renault, Mahindra Racing, Trulli, Venturi and Virgin Racing.