New Thursday night racing league to launch in 2019

06 Dec 2018

By: Sport Industry Group

A new racing league is to launch in 2019, which will see “high profile” teams compete for points and millions of pounds in prize money over eight consecutive Thursday evenings.

‘The Series’ is described as a “first of its kind” event, promising a “totally new approach” to fan engagement in the sport.

Teams representing global brands will compete over 48 flat races for points towards a £5m overall winners’ prize, with up to £100,000 on offer for individual races.

The Series has been created by Championship Horse Racing (CHR) and will take place at racecourses across England, Scotland and Ireland from 25th July to 12th September next year.

Venues involved include Ayr, Epsom Downs, Goodwood, Haydock Park, Leopardstown, Newbury, Newmarket’s July Course and Sandown Park.

The fixtures will be additional to the British Racing Fixture List and require the approval of the BHA.

Commenting on the course agreements, Jeremy Wray, chief executive of CHR, said: “Agreeing the racecourse schedule is a key milestone for CHR. We’re thrilled that The Series will take place at such prestigious courses.

“They are great locations and have superb facilities for summer evening racing that promises fans something they’ve never experienced before. Fans will be encouraged to engage with the teams and our aim is to help tell the stories about the tens of thousands of people involved in the sport.”

Simon Bazalgette, group chief executive of The Jockey Club and chairman of Jockey Club Racecourses, added: “We’re delighted to get behind The Series. There are some fantastic people behind the horses in our sport and it would be brilliant to shine a light on them through this new initiative, while attracting new partners to our sport.”

Each race meeting will host six races with the 12 competing teams having one runner per race. Points will be awarded according to where teams finish in each race, with points added to a league table and prize money at stake for trainers, jockeys and owners.

Each competing team will represent a global brand and have the exclusive use of a trainer, four jockeys and a stable of 30 horses for the duration of The Series.

The CHR plans to announce the teams and broadcast partners over the coming months.

Photo: © Getty Images