Six added to BOA Athletes’ Commission

20 Nov 2018

By: Sport Industry Group

Six Olympians have been elected to the British Olympic Association’s (BOA’s) Athletes’ Commission, following a process that saw one third of eligible British athletes cast their votes.

The newly elected members were among 21 British Olympians to stand for the six available places on the 13-member Commission. They will each serve a four-year term running from 2019 to 2022.

The successful candidates include a trio of Team GB stars from Rio 2016: hockey gold medallist Georgie Twigg, track cycling gold and silver medallist Callum Skinner and gymnast Kristian Thomas, who picked up a team bronze in London 2012.

Two-time Olympic swimmer Liam Tancock also features alongside snowboarder Aimee Fuller, who becomes the first winter sport athlete to serve as part of the body.

The sixth athlete elected, London 2012 basketball player Eric Boateng, will return for a second term.

Commenting on the election verdict, Ben Hawes, BOA Athletes’ Commission chair, said: “I am proud that we have so many Olympians who are willing to stand up and carry the voice of their fellow athletes. 

“The BOA Athletes’ Commission is in place to ensure that athletes' interests continue to be at the heart of everything the BOA does. The six new members will be a fantastic addition to our group and I look forward to working with them as we build towards Tokyo 2020, Beijing 2022 and beyond.” 

Incoming member Georgie Twigg added: "I hope I can use my past experiences to help current athletes perform to the highest level whilst battling with all the challenges they may encounter but also in preparing for life after sport. 

“It is such an important time for sport, with a myriad of issues to tackle and I’m excited to be part of the commission who can inform the various debates that exist in Olympic sport currently.”

The BOA Athletes’ Commission was formed in 2010 and meets every two months, contributing to a variety of projects and initiatives for the BOA to ensure its teams competing at summer, winter and youth Olympic Games and Festivals are as best prepared as possible.

Members play a key role in the development of the team’s values and philosophy, team kit, athlete opportunities, Team Member Agreements, Games-time welfare planning and inputting into accreditation panels.

Next month, five existing members will call time on a role with the Commission. The quintet of Goldie Sayers (athletics), Nathan Robertson (badminton), Claire Hamilton (curling), Sarah Gosling (sailing) and Jon Eley (short track speed skating) will stand down come the end of the year.

Ben Hawes expressed his thanks to the five departing members, adding: “Their time and dedication has been hugely beneficial to the British Olympic Association and the wider athlete community.”